6.6 > 6.2

Turns out, my Olympic distance race is not standard distance.

Assumed distance: 1.5k swim, 40k bike, 10k run

Actual distance: .97k swim (0.6mi), 35.4k bike (22mi), 10.6k run(6.6mi) – why does the run have to be longer and the swim shorter? I like the swim!

New Goals:

Swim: 14 minues is a 1:19/100yd pace. We’ll go with 15:00. I’ve been training at about a 1:30 pace. 1:20 is race realistic.

T1: 4:00 (based on previous results)

Bike: Still 18pmh. Still ambitious. 1:13:20, so we’ll call it 1:15.

T2: 2:00 (based on previous results)

Run: So, my hour goal time has turned into 1:03 and change. I think 1:05 sounds good, because I like multiples of five. That’s a 9:50 pace.

Total time: 2:41:00. We’ll see how that goes.

I think it’s pretty ambitious. It makes me nervous. I know I’ll be happy with whatever the result is… I just know I really need to work on my run because that extra 0.4 miles is something I’ll feel. Of course, these goals are up for revision at any point during the training process! I’m also still learning how much wind affects bike speed. I averaged 15mph on my training ride yesterday. It included a few stop lights and stuff in that avg. With the wind, I was easily holding 19mph. Against, it was more like 16. I know when race day rolls around, I’ll be realistic 🙂  At least there aren’t any big bridges ala Rickenbacker Causeway.

Speaking of running, the weekly hash will remain part of the routine, because I could use that extra bit of running every week! (http://www.gthhh.com/)

In other news, I’m digging the clipless pedals. Clipless-pedal-near-fall-in-traffic lesson #1: if you spaz and flail, your foot comes out of the clip before you crash.

I did a 15ish mile out and back from my house, and instead of the usual mocking of my sweet outfit like on my last run, I heard: “Spin Faster!”, “Nice legs!” and “Nice bike!”. Win.

If I like this Olympic distance thing, I might sign up for my first 70.3 afterwards. Interesting, considering the 6.6 miles I run in this tri will be my longest ever run. Haha. Though with this: http://www.ragnarrelay.com/race/floridakeys and potentially this: http://www.tampabayrun.com/Race_Info/Michelob_Ultra___Beck_s_Light_Challenge.htm (my little sister did the math. Mich Ultra challenge = 30.5 miles in 2 days), I should be more than ready.

Yes, I am crazy.

In other news: three day weekend! Quality time with PH, hiking the Everglades if the weather holds, training, hashing and of course, beer drinking.

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

