Trainer today?

My bike commute home went just as smoothly as my commute in ūüôā

Unfortunately, I didn’t commute on my bike today. I’m going to run at lunch, and I really need to stop and buy dog food and groceries. The place I get Duke’s food from is a feed store with really limited hours. And for some reason, the idea of biking home with a 35lb bag of dog food didn’t sound like the best idea I ever had. I’m still getting used to taking my water bottle out of the cage, drinking from it, and replacing it without an epic wipeout.

Yup, my dog gets fru-fru all-natural dog food. Why? Well, the first reason is because that’s the food he was being fed when I adopted him. I tried to switch it out, but he produced a stench of biblical proportions. Seriously. It was bad. Also, with a little bit of research, I think it’s a good idea to keep him on something with less filler. It’s probably 2x the cost of the cheap brands, but he’s a happy, healthy dog, so we’ll stick with it!

My 5 miler on Saturday morning was good. I finally got to see the swing bridge in operation! Sure, I had to wait for it (2:30, not that I’m counting…), but whatever. It was neat!

(picture from ftl collective.com)

Today, I’m supposed to get my bike trainer in the mail! It’s exciting! I’ve been coveting this since I found it, and managed to find it used for 1/2 price. My 1up USA (ok, a stock picture from the website…):

I put off my long ride this weekend to see if I can crank out some time on it. I really need to find better places to do my long rides. I love the airport, but the loop from my house, around it, and back is only like 13 miles. Most routes involve a ton of traffic and lights, or having to do multiple loops. I also really want to see how it goes when I try to cycle continuously for 2 hours. ¬†I’ve got Mad Men Season 1 Disc 3 waiting for me. Now, I’m still not sure how Duke will react to the trainer, but we’ll see. I thought about just doing it as an outdoor ride yesterday, but I had too much going on in my head, and I would have¬†over-analyzed¬†the shit out of everything. Maybe I can convince work to let me put my trainer at my desk…

Some days, outdoor training is the escape I want. Some days, that’s just too much Me time. So, now soon, for those days, I can ride and watch TV/listen to music/listen to books/read books/study/do whatever distracting activity I want.

I think I realized what my problem with cycling is. If I’m tired, I can coast for a bit and the bike doesn’t stop. This doesn’t translate to running or swimming. If I suddenly stop my legs while running, I’m assuming I’d faceplant. If I stop while swimming, I start to just float there. I guess it’s a mental thing, because if I can run for an hour without stopping my legs, I can ride for an hour, right?

Off to finish up some work and hit the pavement for a nice lunchtime 4.5 miler.

Leave a Reply

