I did it!

Yes, I made it to Uhuru Peak, the summit of Mt. Kilimanjaro.

It wasn’t one of those “I am a badass woman who can do anything” kind of moments… I humbly hiked up while a guide, Gjivinny, carried my pack for the second half of the ascent and the entire descent.

With the help of others, I can do anything.

Our group of 10 had a crew of about 30 people: guides, porters, cooks… and they were all amazing.

I’ll write more on my trip later. It was an amazing, exhausting, fantastic experience. I kept a journal. I took a ton of pictures. I just can’t wrap my brain around re-capping it right now. When I do, it’ll probably take me a few days to write anyway.  Plus, Ragnar is this weekend, and I’m trying to be the super-organized captain who is prepared for everything. So, between that, catching up on work, and sneaking in a date night with Patrick, I’m busy.

I will, however, take a minute or two to reflect on 2010.

In January, I changed jobs.

In February, I met Patrick.

In March, I went to Utah – new state + snowboarding!

In April, I moved into my current place in Florida and did the Muddy Buddy in Orlando.

In May, I did the Warrior Dash in GA.

In June, I went on a cruise with my college friends.

In July, I competed in my first Triathlon since 2006.

In August, I did 2 more tris, and went on vacation with my family.

In September, I visited my sister in Boston.

In October, I won my age group at a tri.

In November, I did my first Olympic distance race, and visited the family in Cape May and in Vermont.

In December, I climbed Kilimanjaro.

I’m welcoming 2011 with open arms.

 

P.S. check out www.runningandrambling.com for some good reads and good contests!

Leave a Reply

