New plan!

So, I’ve got that big Gasparilla Festival thing coming up… and I chose poorly when ramping up a running plan. Actually, between Africa and Ragnar, I’ve really only been “training” for a week and a half. And my plan was crap. So, here’s the new one:

From now until Gasparilla, complete the Hal Higdon’s Novice Marathon Program, but altered. The alteration was thanks to my mentor on Beginner Triathlete.  I’m doing a mile less per weekday run, and shortening the long run, so it’ll look like this:

rest 4 m run 8 m run 4 m run rest 11
cross
rest 4 m run 9 m run 4 m run rest 14
cross
rest 4 m run 7 m run 3 m run rest 10
cross
rest 3 m run 5 m run 2 m run rest 6
cross
rest 2 m run 3 m run 1 m run rest rest
race

note:  left column = week #, second column = Monday.

It looks managable to me. And, if it’s not, I’ll scale down. I know there is risk of injury, but I know my body. I’ll push when I can and rest when things don’t seem right.

…and then…

It’s time to train for the Canyonlands Half! I’ll have four weeks, so I think I’ll rest for a week, then hop into the final three weeks of a half plan… maybe Hal Higdon’s if I like it enough? Maybe another one?

…and then…

I’ll be switching gears for the Cherry Blossom 10-Miler. I’ll hop into the final weeks of their training program.

So much running!!!

Leave a Reply

