Beer Mile Day!

The big day is here… BEER MILE!

Here are the rules, straight from beermile.com:

Official Beermile.Com Rules

       1. Each competitor drinks four cans of beer and runs four laps on a track
          (Start - beer/lap, beer/lap, beer/lap, beer/lap - finish).
       2. Beer must be consumed before the lap is begun, within the
          transition area which is the 10 meter zone before the start/finish
          line on a 400m track.
       3. The race begins with the drinking of the first beer in the last meter
          of the transition zone to ensure the comptitors run a complete mile
          (1609 meters).
       4. Women also drink four beers in four laps (past rule lists only required
          ladies to drink three beers).
       5. Competitors must drink canned beer and the cans should not be
          less than 355ml (the standard can volume) or 12oz (the imperial equivalent).
          Bottles may be substituted for cans as long as they are at least
          12 oz (355 ml) in volume.
       6. No specialized cans or bottles may be used that give an advantage
          by allowing the beer to pour at a faster rate. ie "super mega
          mouth cans" or "wide mouth bottles" are prohibited.
       7. Beer cans must not be tampered with in any manner, ie. no
          shotgunning or puncturing of the can except for opening the can by
          the tab at the top. The same applies with bottles - no straws or
          other aids are allowed in order to aid in the speed of pouring.
       8. Beer must be a minimum of 5% alcohol by volume.  Hard ciders and lemonades
          will not suffice.  The beer must be a fermented alcoholic beverage
          brewed from malt and flavored with hops.  For an abbreviated list of valid
          beers and exceptions, click here.
       9. Each beer can must not be opened until the competitor enters the
          transition zone on each lap.
      10. Competitors who vomit before they finish the race must complete
          one penalty lap at the end of the race (immediately after the
          completion of their 4th lap). Note: Vomitting more than once
          during the race still requires only one penalty lap at the end.

Yes, I’m completely excited. Yes, I will be running in the last heat so I can stay organized and time everything 🙂 Yes, I’m providing beverages for non-drinkers. Yes, I’m bending rules for people that want to have fun but aren’t up to the challenge.  My to-do list is detailed. I think I’m ready. I always stress before I host events, even hashes. I just want things to go smoothly, and I always seem to forget something!

So, what else do I have planned for this lovely weekend?

Heck no, I’m not running in it. Have you seen my upcoming schedule? I’m running 30+ miles next weekend! This weekend, I’m working at the finish line! I’m really excited about it. I worked a water station at the Marine Corps Marathon in 2009, which was a blast. I was at mile 4, and then I headed to watch at the finish line while I waited for my runner to finish. I’ve always wanted to work at a finish line! I really want to work at an Ironman finish line sometime. Anyway, I’m excited for a pre-dawn ride to the finish line on my tri bike. She’s been on that trainer for far too long. I’ll be happy when my crazy race next weekend is over, because I’ll be able to focus a little less on running.

Building up my running in the “off-season” has been a great idea. The off-season in FL is actually the best time of year for running, in my opinion. It’s much cooler. My lunch time runs are starting to get hot already (80 degrees yesterday!) and I’m so thankful that I used the cooler weather months to build up a strong running base. I think I might jump into an Olympic distance bike-focused plan for a while and follow it loosely. I have serious problems with just working out, but when I have a plan, I’m motivated and ready… Plus, there’s a cycling club in the area that I want to check out.

Oh, and my Terra Plana Evos are starting to work out for me. I’ve worn them with thick socks on some shorter runs (at the recommendation of a rep) and my last run was free of blisters and hot spots. BUT, I’m retiring them for the next 1.5 weeks. They, like my Vibram Five Fingers, are a strain on my calves right now, which is to be expected. So, I’m gonna just make my body happy until after next weekend’s races!

Leave a Reply

