Failed Run and Finisher Medals

This weekend did not hold my triumphant return to running, as I had hoped. I made it about 1.5 miles before the ankle started to complain. Luckily, it isn’t bad. Sadly, it isn’t healed. I’m running the Canyonlands Half Marathon on SATURDAY. Getting better and being able to compete in it (or just complete it) has become my top priority.

I missed my long ride yesterday, but I’ll make up for that tonight. I’ll be skipping the usual Monday night ritual for the sake of the ankle.

I did get some good news though…

My parents will be coming to the Cherry Blossom 10-Miler!

They’ll be driving down from Philly for the weekend. I’m pretty excited, because I haven’t seen them in a while, and I won’t be home until May.

Meanwhile, over on the Facebook page for Canyonlands Half Marathon, there have been lots of updates – and lots of talk about the lack of finisher medals. I’m surprised. I never really cared about finisher medals. I’ve got a ton hanging in my room… but they’re all hanging from the same hook, and they’re not really “on display”. I still have my bibs from Gasparilla, the tri where I won my age group, and my Olympic distance tri… but they are in a drawer, and mostly kind of mangled. The Gasparilla one was worn for four races in two days. It looks like it’s been through a war. Anyway, I just can’t get worked up about it. It’s one thing to be promised a medal and not given one, but it’s another thing to sign up for a race knowing there aren’t finishers medals, and continuing to complain. I’m in it for the experience 🙂

What do you think about finisher medals?

Leave a Reply

