Things are about to change…

I’m now 9 days post marathon! At the advice of Hal Higdon, I did NOTHING for 3 days after the marathon. No running, swimming, biking, strength training… nothing! But, on Thursday, I ran two miles. I took Patrick along for his FIRST post-surgery run! Please don’t tell his PT – she told him it’d be another 4 weeks before he was allowed to run. He kept his shoulder in the position it would be in if he were wearing the sling. We were very careful. We cranked out just under 12 minute miles, and it was everything I hoped it would be!
 
Friday I did a little core work and my knee exercises to keep my IT band happy. I wanted to swim, but we had tickets to the Panther’s game! I’m not a huge hockey fan, but I am a fan of a $50 ticket including a full buffet, beers, parking, and hockey. It was fun!
 
Saturday morning, I was up and off to Oleta River State Park. This is the site of Miami’s Xterra race, and the race director was hosting a training day! So, I met them ready to ride. Luckily, I left my ego at home that day. I was BY FAR the slowest and least experienced mountain biker! Gomez, who was running the show, stayed with me, gave me some tips and had me pushing outside of my comfort zone. I’ve got the scrapes and bruises to prove it! Did I mention this was also my first time using the clipless pedals on my mountain bike? Yup. Lots of falling-over-when-nearly-stopped. After about 90 minutes, we called it quits, and hit the trails for a run. I face-planted on this one, too, but I was able to keep up with the group!
 
Next, it was off to watch a friend’s CrossFit competition! It reminded me of a swim meet. Lots of waiting around while other people did stuff – then my friend would go and her event would be over in a few minutes 🙂 Anyway, it was REALLY intense and pretty fun to watch!
 
I got home, washed off the dirt and blood from my off-road session, and the sweat from sitting outside all afternoon drinking beer and watching crossfit, and headed out again! Patrick and I met a few friends for dinner.

Funny story of the night:
 
We’re sitting at the table waiting for Reg to arrive before we order. Reg walks in and almost walks right past the table! I say, “Hey Reg! Over here!” to which Reg responds, “Oh, hey! It’s you guys! I was wondering who I was supposed to meet!” Turns out, Reg didn’t have Patrick’s number in his phone. When Patrick invited him via text, Reg just decided to show up and be surprised at who he was having dinner with. Awesome!
 
Sunday I went out for a charity ride – thus ending my 2 month hiatus from my tri bike.
 
But, I suppose you’re still wondering what change is happening…
 
Patrick accepted a job in TUCSON, AZ!
 
With any luck, I’ll be able to find one, too, so I can head out there!

7 responses to “Things are about to change…

  1. What an adventure of a week!!

    So exciting for you both!! Best of puck with the job hunt!!

  2. I’ve only heard great things about Tuscon. Hope you have a blast! (and get a job out there…)

  3. Sounds like a great weekend! 🙂 And that’s super funny about meeting Reg at dinner! 🙂

    Yay on Tuscon. I’ve heard nothing but amazing things about it! 🙂

  4. What an amazing week! And good call – beer, buffet, and hockey? AWESOME!

    Good luck job hunting!

  5. Awesome stuff. You will find something I am sure of that. Great place to be. I only spent 8 months there and would love to go back. My mom keeps talking about retiring down there in a few years. I hope she does so I have somewhere warm to go in the winter for a few weeks.

  6. Tucson is (I am) SO HAPPY to have you. I keep fantasizing about where I’m going to take you riding first. It’s going to be a blast!!

  7. love that your friend just showed up for dinner w/ no idea who he was meeting. Classic! When are you moving?

Leave a Reply

