I braved my first spin class!

Last week, I spent 30 hours in Tucson. I was interviewing, rental house-shopping, and, of course, visiting with TriGeekess!

Me & TriGeekess. Hope she doesn't mind the photo 🙂

She asked me if I wanted to eat food, drink beer, and be silly or workout. I asked if we could do both!

So, after a crazy day, I met up with her. We stopped by her house and I FINALLY got to meet Scout, her Schnauzer. He’s adorable.

After that, we headed over to downtown Tucson for some food, spin class, beer, and more food 🙂

I was pretty intimidated by the idea of spin class. What shoes do I wear? What clothes do I wear? What if I can’t keep up? What if I’m in over my head? How do those bikes even work?

We walked into O2 Modern Fitness nice and early. They had a bunch of different pedals (Look Delta style, Shimano SPD style, toe-cage style) and the instructor was nice enough to put bikes with the pedals we needed next to each other! I didn’t dork out and wear my full cycling kit – just cycling shorts and a regular athletic tank top. I fit right in! The instructor also helped me get the bike fit to me.

So, the cool thing about this place? They also have bike trainers, so you can bring your own bike for spin class!

We warmed up a bit, and got rolling. We did a few 6 minute long sets of different things. We were told if we needed to back off for a minute, just lower the resistance and recover for a bit. I tried SO HARD to do the full workout – and I think I managed! One nice feature of the spin bikes – you can’t really see anyone else’s resistance. So, even if you’re recovering a bit in the middle of a set, you’re golden!

I had a ton of fun. I want to do it again!

The Thursday night class at O2 is only $5 to drop in, and they turn off the lights and turn on the disco ball 🙂

We hit up Hotel Congress for some beers afterwards, then The Hub for food. It was a GREAT night in Tucson! I can’t wait to go back!!

2 responses to “I braved my first spin class!

  1. I can’t believe you’ve never been to spin! I LOVE LOVE LOVE spin. In fact, a few years back before I started really running, I was spinning and swimming everyday.

    Such a cute photo too! It’s 29 degrees here right now, your bathing suit and sunshine made me VERY jealous.

  2. I’m laughing (in a friendly way) that you do all these hard athletic things and were worried about Spin class. Glad you enjoyed it, I love Spinning too, esp with the disco ball. Your bathing suit in the next post is Gorgeous!

Leave a Reply

