My life, now a Country/Western song!

I had such great plans.

I was going to tell you about how me and my Fuji climbed Mt Lemmon. We climbed 6000+ ft in under 25 miles. For real. In under 4 hours!

I was going to tell you my amazing Niece just turned 1!

I was going to tell you about how my little sister  just got to Africa to help fight AIDS on her way to getting a Masters in Public Health… and shamelessly promote her efforts and ask you to donate as she runs to Tanzania.

But on Sunday, I rode up and over Gate’s Pass, all around Saguaro West, and crashed my bike.

I hit a bump going ~18mph, and my rear wheel flatted. The rim hit the ground and bent, breaking two spokes. The wheel locked up and sent me flying ass over teakettle and landing on my back. Luckily, I was with friends. Julie heard me yell some crazy obscenities and turned just in time to see me flip. I landed on my shoulders and hit my head on the ground. She yelled at me that I was not in the road and I shouldn’t try to get up. She pulled my bike off of me, and slowly got me sitting, then standing, then off of the shoulder. We called our two friends who were 1/2 mile ahead and told them to get the car.

I cam out of it with no concussion, minor road rash, and lots of bruises.

It wasn’t until I was in the car that I saw the dent in my frame. I took it to a Fuji dealer who told me the frame now had a “weak spot”. Yup, no more riding that bike.

I’ve been scrambling to figure out what to do. I’ve got a mountain bike. I’m selling the two old bikes I had to finance a new one. I’m racing in two weeks. Fun!

Building on that, the following day, my family put our dog down. Spottie was old and very sick, but was a member of the family for almost 13 years.

So, I’m working on my Country/Western song.

On a positive note:

Blue is an awesome Rev3 Sponsor. I’m working on a deal with them to get me back on two wheels again.

-My boyfriend is amazing, and offered to help my unemployed self buy said bike, and I can pay him back without interest when I’m employed

-I have three job interviews this week, and one last week

-I leave on Thursday to spend a week with my family, and a weekend racing/volunteering at Quassy with Rev3

-My super-awesome teammate, Laura, has offered to let me borrow her bike for the race, so I can stop stressing about the fact that I feel like I need a bike NOW. Not to mention the loads of other teammates that put out feelers to help me replace my bike

-The only terrible things that happened in the crash involved my wheel, frame, and helmet – not ME.

So, I’ll write my country / western song, and move on to better things.

Infinite thanks to everyone who offered condolences, support, beers, gear, and general love during this time 🙂

One response to “My life, now a Country/Western song!

  1. Thank goodness for your helmet! Now, time for things to turn around.

Leave a Reply

