Riding the high…

I’m hoping I can ride the high of the last two weekends right through the week…

Last weekend was Superfrog – which became a 1.2 mile swim instead of a 70.3 mile race for me.

It was Chrissy’s first 70.3, and she ROCKED it!

I had an absolute blast on the swim – 6 foot waves and all! It was also a beautiful weekend just to be in a city I love.

The photo below is a GREAT shot of the waves from Slowtwitch photographer Timothy Carlson.

The following weekend was spent visiting friends in Albuquerque. I had a goal of learning how to spell Albuquerque before going there, and I’m happy to say that I nailed it!

We got into town around 2am on Saturday, and by noon, we were drinking at the beer festival! I snagged the rarest image – one of my boyfriend and I where we both actually look good. Maybe an afternoon of drinking is the optimum condition for us to be photogenic.

Our friend Mike came along, too. We were super excited to see big trees! Yes, trees. We don’t have many deciduous trees in Tucson, and we love trees. And beer.

We wrapped up our trip to the beer fest, headed to dinner, then out to a brewery. While getting ready to head out into the chilly air (at 5000+ feet, it’s much cooler there than in Tucson), Mija and I realized we had nearly matching Patagonia jackets. A photo shoot ensued.

4am came early, and we were awake again, and headed to the balloon festival! We were there in time for Dawn Patrols and the first launches.

The sun came up, and more and more balloons took off!

We hung around until 9 or 10am, and grabbed breakfast and naps before heading back to Tucson. Of course, no trip through the vast, empty desert with two engineers is complete without a stop at the aptly named Very Large Array… basically there are a bunch of these:

The Very Large Array, one of the world’s premier astronomical radio observatories, consists of 27 radio antennas (picture above) in a Y-shaped configuration on the Plains of San Agustin fifty miles west of Socorro, New Mexico. Each antenna is 25 meters (82 feet) in diameter (yes, about the length of a swimming pool across the dish!!). The data from the antennas is combined electronically to give the resolution of an antenna 36km (22 miles) across, with the sensitivity of a dish 130 meters (422 feet) in diameter. (adapted from https://science.nrao.edu/facilities/vla)

It was in A configuration when we saw it (there are A, B, C, and D). This means that each of the three arms stretched 13 miles from the center. Yup! A run from the center dish, around the 9dishes in that arm, and back, would be a marathon. Crazy.

This coming weekend, I work on Saturday (boo!), but Sunday is Tinfoilman! It’s a local sprint tri at the University of Arizona pool. I’ve got a few friends and a coaching client doing this as their FIRST tri, and I’m super-excited!!! Me? I’ll be trying to run Chrissy down after she beats me off the bike 🙂

Happy Training!

Leave a Reply

