Picacho Peak and tempo runs

Well, I already knocked one thing off of my Tucson Bucket list…

Last Sunday, I headed up to Picaho Peak with a few friends!

We climbed the one on the right.

It was full of crazy, sketchy sections where you needed cables/supports to climb:

It was challenging, fun, and my quads hurt for days.

So glad I went!

I got home and lounged on the couch for hours, because I had a tempo run to get in. I put it off, and put it off, and put it off… and finally convinced myself to get out the door around 9:30pm.

I started running, and my warm-up miles were nearly 11 minutes/mile. SUPER slow. Oh well, that’s what a warm-up is supposed to be, right?

My first tempo mile felt awful. I felt like I was full-on sprinting, but my HR avg for that mile was 13bpm lower than my prescribed tempo run, but somehow, my pace was right around where it normally is for that tempo run.

I told myself if I was still struggling around mile 3, when I’d pass by home, that I could stop.

By the end of that first mile, I had built to 2bpm below my target and I had knocked out an 8:36 mile.

Now, for these runs, when I’m doing my tempo miles, my Garmin screen only displays current HR, and avg HR for the mile. I try to ignore pace completely.

Mile 2 went by. I still felt like I was sprinting… and when my Garmin beeped, I saw my split. 8:02. Still averaged 8bpm under what I was trying to hit.

The next miles went by… 7:55, 8:01, 7:47…

Holy cow. I may actually be able to hit that sub-2:35 goal at Superseal.

Of course, because training wouldn’t have ups without downs… I had a terrible run two days later.

But, I redeemed myself with a great FTP test. 20 Watts higher than 5 weeks ago. Seriously. I think this is the most time I’ve ever spent on a trainer, but my workouts have been very focused, and executed to the best of my ability.

Now, I’m coming off a weekend of rest… well, rest from tri training. I was drilling with my Guard Unit all weekend. I’m ready to hop back on the trainer tonight for increased pain with my brand new FTP!

Leave a Reply

